RSS Feed

Vacation Weeknight Dinner

Though I’m on vacation, I feel like I’ve been running at pretty full speed, catching up on chores and dealing with doctors. Tomorrow I have ANOTHER appointment, so a comforting, and easy, dinner seemed fitting. I made fancy BLTs, and homemade tomato soup.We picked up some gorgeous sourdough bread in our travels, at this new market/cafe called Brooklyn Commune. I flavored some plain mayonnaise with sundried tomato and basil, and used spinach in place of the classic lettuce in the sandwich. I made a super easy tomato soup on the side. The recipe follows. It’s inspired by my favorite pasta e fagioli recipe:

  • 1/2 piece of bacon, sliced into 1/4 inch pieces
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • small celery stalk, diced
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1.5 cups crushed tomatoes
  • Fresh rosemary, thyme, and/or oregano
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tbs. heavy cream
  • basil, for garnish
  1. In a medium sized sauce pan, saute the bacon pieces until slightly crisp, and some fat is rendered, about 5 minutes.
  2. Saute the onion and celery in the same pan, using only the bacon fat, until onions become translucent and celery is softened, about 5 more minutes
  3. Add stock and bring to a boil. Lower heat and add tomato and fresh herbs, on their stems. Add salt and pepper to taste. Bring back to a boil. Cover, and lower to a simmer. Let simmer for about 10 minutes.
  4. Stir in the heavy cream and cook, just until all the flavors are nicely married, about 2 minutes.
  5. Fish out the herb stems with a spoon and serve, garnished with a little bit of basil.

It was delicious and satisfying, with a glass of white wine, and some more of Chris’s fantastic lemon bars for dessert.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a great simple dinner! I am really excited to see that you’re taking these recipes and using them as a base to create new things. I think that’s the real fun of cooking!

    Reply
  2. I made a homemade tomato soup a few weeks ago and the kids ate it ok (but told me they liked the canned stuff better) This one how ever looks way better than the recipe I tried.

    Reply
  3. I agree, and I’m really gaining confidence to experiment. Melissa, kids are so funny. I used to hate it when my mom deviated from her usual recipe repertoire just because I wasn’t used to it.

    Reply
  4. Iz & I went to Panera’s yesterday for lunch & Iz had what he said was a great
    Tomato Soup. Your recipe looks simple & easy. The kind of recipe I like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

