RSS Feed

Salmon Croquettes

Toward the end of the week, I have to get creative with stuff in my pantry, and left over in my fridge… and I’m usually pretty lazy. Tonight I made easy salmon croquettes. The use of canned salmon might make most foodies cringe, but I think it’s fine in a pinch. I’ve seen recipes using nice salmon fillets, and I bet they’re great. But on a lazy Friday? These’ll be delicious.

The first time I made these, I followed Paula Deen’s simple recipe;  now, I’ve a number of made my own adjustments. Tonight I’ll serve these with a simple green salad, and a small serving of quinoa (cooked with chicken broth and some lemon).

  • can salmon, flaked with a fork
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, plus more for dusting on the outside
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, diced
  • juice of half a lemon
  • chopped fresh parsley, a tablespoon or two
  • salt, pepper
  • canola oil

For dipping sauce:

  • 2 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  • sprinkle of onion powder
  • salt, pepper

1. Combine the salmon, beaten egg, bread crumbs, onion, pepper, parsley, and dry seasonings in a mixing bowl until they’re sort of similar in consistency to a meatloaf mix.

2. Cover your large sautee pan with canola oil (you’re not deep frying; just cover the bottom) and heat over medium while you make your salmon into patties (I do this by making balls roughly the size of golf balls and flattening them). You should have 4-6 patties of equal size.

3. Dust each patty with a little of the bread crumbs on the outside before placing them in the hot oil. They should sizzle as they’re placed in the pan. Cook for about 5 minutes per side, or until brown.

4. Combine mayo, lemon juice, and seasonings in a small bowl with a fork. Serve either dolloped lightly on top or, as I like to do, in a small dish for dipping.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

2 responses »

  1. Yum — my mom used to make these a lot and we loved them. If anyone has an issue with canned salmon, then I don’t want to know them. Did you give Fat Elvis any of the bones??

    Reply
  2. Right?! I love them. And, alas, this canned salmon was boneless. (Though I didn’t know I could feed him the bones. Cute!!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

