RSS Feed

Pasta Bolognese, Courtesy Anne Burrell

In spite of myself, I’m starting to like Anne Burrell. Perhaps it’s only in contrast to Robert Irvine, her obnoxiously British co-host on (my new favorite show) “Worst Cooks in America,” but she has an odd charisma that sneaks up on me… despite her horrid hair (why?!), and her tendency to gutturally declare the supremacy of “brown food.”

Her recipe for pasta bolognese solidified my feelings of growing respect. It was delicious, rich, and contained a few thoughtful tricks. For the budget minded among you, it was also inexpensive.  I was concerned about the looong cooking time but, in fact, found the sauce quite easy to monitor as I went about my afternoon business at home. I did, as she says in the recipe, have to add more water and salt at intervals, but this was no big deal. I did everything exactly as the recipe called for, using ground beef. In the future, I might try and get creative with a few more herbs (fresh oregano might be nice) and a touch more garlic, or try her suggestions for different combinations of ground meat. A note: I halved the recipe, and had at least one meal left over.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

2 responses »

  1. I have watched Worst Cooks a few times and liked it, but haven’t really been following it steadily. I will confess I do sort of like Robert Irvine — ha ha. I know what you mean about Anne, but I like watching her cook as well. Have you seen her other show “Secrets of a Restaurant Chef”? (I think that’s what it’s called). I haven’t ever tried a real bolognese but this sounds really good, so I may try to tackle it this weekend. Will let you know! (I used her recipe for shortribs a few months ago and it turned out really nice.)

    Reply
  2. I like her cooking show, and that is what it’s called, though sometimes the recipes seem kind of complicated (and, again, her weird verbal inflections freak me out). But she seems so technically skilled! And, oh man, I love short ribs. I’ve never cooked them, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

