RSS Feed

Cooking Slump?

 

by Web Comic xkcd via bonapetit.com

I keep finding myself in this vicious cycle. I love food so much. I know how much healthier, more cost effective, and (often) tasty home-cooked meals are. But I get into a certain rhythm with work, and socializing, and just don’t feel like it. The sausage soup I made a couple of weeks ago went bad in only a couple of days, and is still sitting in it’s container in the fridge (ahem, Chris, ahem). Superbowl Sunday meant a super fun party, but also an afternoon with no time for groceries. Plus, we’re broke, and shopping the circulars stops feeling like a game after a few weeks.

I’m hoping Chris will cook tonight’s dinner, with the ground beef we stuck in the freezer last week. I have a few go-to meals when I’m uninspired: fast tomato sauces, tortellini in chicken broth, rice and beans. But then the slump starts to perpetuate itself: the things I’m cooking bore me, so I stay bored with cooking.

This week will likely stay boring. I’m too busy to do any good shopping… maybe I’ll try and get amped up and plan for next week.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

Leave a Reply

