RSS Feed

Pasta e Fagioli

I spent like two hours on the phone today trying to square away the stupid pre-tax commuter card I’m supposed to get from work. My hours of listening to Musak while on hold were for naught; I haven’t resolved anything, will have to spend extra money on my Metro Cards this month, and my already sore throat is raw from yelling at the poor supervisor at Wage Works. Thus, it was a good night for soup.

There is little more therapeutic than the smell of sauteeing bacon and onions, and the (simple, in this case) layering of flavors for a soup makes me feel accomplished. Which is more than I can say for my other endeavors today.

This pasta e fagioli soup recipe was for two;  it easily could have fed three or four. Also,we didn’t have canned whole tomatoes, just the crushed variety. They worked well, and might have helped keep the soup from getting too stew-y (a commenter’s complaint). I’ve learned that I really like to do all my prep before getting started, and once I did this, this whole thing was a cinch. I served this with some crusty bread, rubbed with some garlic and olive oil, and warmed up in our cast iron grill pan.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

2 responses »

  1. This sounds really good, I haven’t tried making this but have made minestrone, which is another favorite of mine. (Also we recently switched to Wage Works for benefits distro stuff and now I am scared!! Hope you get it all sorted and that your voice has returned!)

    Reply
  2. Yeah: it was easy and really good. Do you have a good recipe for minestrone?

    Good luck with Wage Works… I still haven’t been able to get anyone on the phone. I’ll be trying tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

