RSS Feed

Bounty Pie

Today was a snow day and, out of the blue, I asked Chris if he wanted to try to make a pie. “A chocolate pie?” He asked. “Apple?” I countered. We went back and forth on this for awhile (it actually threatened to become a real argument… being cooped up inside makes people crazy). Because of the lack of nearby food options (have I mentioned our ghetto Compare foods?!), we figured we’d be safest making a simple graham cracker crust and filling it with some chocolate pudding and homemade whipped cream. We were shocked to find graham crackers all cost $5 (more than a pre-made crust!), so we decided to be bold and make Mark Bittman’s flaky pie crust. It took us forever to make it, and a few mishaps occurred along the way. We learned that next time we’ll roll the dough out and shape it over our pie tin a little more carefully. But other than that, it was easier than I expected. This labor-intensive, delicious, flaky, buttery crust received a luscious Jell-o pudding and shredded coconut filling, in amazingly Semi-Homemade style. We topped it with some homemade whipped cream. Chris named it Bounty Pie. And it was awesome. It did not, however, look awesome in a photo. It looked like poop. So you’ll just have to imagine.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

3 responses »

  1. I love that you put Jell-O pudding in a Bittman crust. That is classic. I haven’t made pie in a while, but I heard a few days ago it was National Pie Day, so you are really celebrating! I’ve also heard that the secret to great pie crust is vodka (maybe both as an ingredient and as a chef’s assistant). (Here is a discussion about this if you are curious! http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/cooking/msg0709122014524.html)

    Reply
  2. I tried leaving a comment on this earlier, but not sure what happened (unless you have banned me from stalking your blog — ha ha). Anyway — I love that you filled a Bittman crust with Jell-O pudding. There’s something very awesome about that. I haven’t made a pie in a while, but have heard a secret to great pie crusts is vodka… for the pie, not the cook. There’s a discussion about this here if you’re curious: http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/cooking/msg0709122014524.html

    Reply
    • I love that you comment on my blog a lot. I don’t know why, but your comment ended up in my Spam folder… I feel like I’ve heard the vodka trick, too. We’ll have to try it out. And yeah. We took semi-homemade to a whole new level…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

