RSS Feed

Ratatouille, Round II

Tonight, I turned my ratatouille into a sauce. As I’ve mentioned, our move bled us dry financially, so I have to be creative. This was one of the first recipes I’ve completely invented myself!

I  pureed what was left  (a pretty big tupperware container of roasted vegetables eggplant, zucchini, onion, tomato and garlic) and added another half of a can of tomatoes, a couple spoonfuls of my homemade pesto (I keep some in the fridge).  It yielded about two cups of a chunky sauce, which was about the texture of a gazpacho or a chunkier pesto.

I heated it up with about a tablespoon  of olive oil in a pan. When I turned off the heat, I added a tablespoon of sour cream, a bit more salt and black pepper. I served it over some mini ravioli from Trader Joe’s, garnished with fresh farmer’s market basil. It was, if I say so myself, delicious and satisfying! It retained a heartiness that comes from roasting, but felt more summery and fresh with the addition of basil and pesto.

I served a dijon/balsamic/olive oil dressed green salad on the side.

I remembered that my dad and stepmom gave me one of those fantastic universal gift cards for my birthday, so I’m going to treat us to post-dinner cocktails at the Black Swan down the street. Even though we’re broke, I’m determined not to feel poor tonight.

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

4 responses »

  1. Yumm!! You put me to shame with all your yummy creations. I wish we had a Farmers market more then once a month here! Once upon a time i had a blog where I posted my weekly menus and recipes. I need to start doing that again.

    Reply
  2. Well, tonight we just had pizza. I felt lazy! I’m surprised there aren’t more farmer’s markets in Idaho. Aren’t there actual farms there?! We have this cool community garden down the street where they grow fruits and vegetables and they have egg-laying chickens! I’d love to read your weekly menus; I’m running out of ideas, and it’ll be hard to be creative when I start back at work on Tuesday!

    Reply
  3. Last night we did frozen pizza, super lazy! Kevin has worked a lot of overtime this weekend so it is just the kids and I. http://alaizzy.blogspot.com/ This was my food/home blog. I WILL start posting again. I’m better about menus in the fall/winter than in the summer. There were a bunch of farms/ farmer’s markets, U-pick places when we lived in Idaho, but now we are in Nevada. Lots of desert. There are some farms further west of us and they have started coming in once a month which is nice. We have had a few people throw up roadside stands too, it is growing! Do you guys have a crock pot? I love that for busy days.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the post. I am always looking for ways to improve my gardening and cooking skills. My family loves eating real food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

