RSS Feed

Dinner, Slightly Ambitious

Posted on

So, this is my last week off of work, so I’m being slightly ambitious with my dinner. I’m serving a green salad with Melissa D’Arabian’s French mustard vinaigrette, roasted plum tomatoes topped with sheep’s milk feta, pesto coated shrimp, and crusty bread. I’m also making rice pudding.

The pesto and rice pudding are from Mark Bittman’s How To Cook Everything. Have I mentioned how much I love him? His recipes are super easy to follow and they’re extremely tasty.

As far as the shrimp, I’m sort of improvising. I’ll mince some garlic and heat it up along with about a tablespoon of olive oil in my saute pan and cook the shrimp, just ’til it turns pink. Then I’ll shut off the heat and stir in the sauce. Since the pesto’s been in the fridge I’ll take out the amount I’ll use (for two of us, probably about 4 tbsp) and let it come to room temperature, adding a splash of oil to thin it out(not too much, since this will be added to the garlicky oil I’m cooking the shrimp with).

About Elizabeth

In no particular order, I am a writer, reader, wife, teacher, obsessive eater, and amateur home cook.

Leave a Reply

